In 2017, 675 children under the age of 12 died in car accidents and 116,000 were hurt, according to the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. Of these:
- 49 percent of those between the ages of 8 and 12 were not buckled in.
- 36 percent of those between the ages of 4 and 7 were not restrained.
- 22 percent of those under the age of 4 were not restrained.
To reduce the risk of death or severe injury, parents and caregivers should take steps to ensure children are properly secured. Nebraska car seat laws outline key safety precautions.
Nebraska’s Child Safety Restraint Law
The following child safety restraint laws went into effect in January 2019:
Children Between the Ages of 8 and 18
- Must ride secured in a safety belt or a child safety seat appropriate for the weight and height, such as a booster seat
- Cannot ride in any type of cargo area of the vehicle
Children Up to 8 Years of Age
Must ride in a federally approved child safety seat and must be using that seat correctly
Children Under 8 Years of Age
- Must ride in the backseat of the vehicle
- The back seat must be equipped with a seatbelt (only one child per seatbelt is permitted)
Children Under the Age of 2
Must ride in rear-facing car seats until the age of 2 or when they reach the upper height and weight limits allowed by the manufacturer of the car seat for rear-facing use
Keeping Your Child Safe
A child positioned properly in an appropriately sized car seat is less likely to be injured in a car accident. Even if a parent does everything he or she can to keep that child safe and drives properly, there is no way to know what others on the road will do. A child restraint helps minimize those risks.
If you’ve been involved in a car accident with your child, you need help from a personal injury attorney. Contact the Law Office of Matthew A. Lathrop, PC, LLO today to schedule a free, no-obligation initial consultation.