Over 36,700 car crashes happened in Nebraska in 2019, according to the Nebraska Department of Transportation. In many cases, these accidents should have an accident report created to document the incident fully. Never assume the other party involved in the accident is going to create one.
An accident report outlines the details of the incident. This includes the name and contact information for all involved. It should include a statement of what you believe happened. The second part of this accident form includes information about the insurance coverage at the time of the accident.
When Do You Need to Report a Car Accident?
The only time you don’t have to call the police in an accident is when there is minor damage. However, it’s always wise to have a police report completed whenever possible.
Nebraska law requires the operator of the vehicle to file an accident report any time the incident results in injury, death, or property damage over $1,000. A Driver’s Motor Vehicle Crash Report must be submitted within 10 days after the crash in these incidents.
How Do You Report a Car Accident?
You can file an accident report by walking into the local police department or file an accident report online at the Nebraska Department of Transportation Crash Reporting website. It’s also possible to print and fill out a report, make a copy, and then submit the report by mail. You can download this report online. If you plan to mail it, do so to:
Highway Safety, Nebraska Department of Transportation
P.O. Box 94759
Lincoln, NE 68509-4759
How Can You Get a Copy of a Car Accident Report?
You can obtain a copy of an accident report by purchasing a certified copy of it with the driver’s name, accident location, and accident date. Accident reports are a part of public record.
We can help you complete the accident report and access them later for your accident claim. At the Law Office of Matthew A. Lathrop, PC, LLO, we provide free consultations to help our clients secure the information they need. Call us today.